← Back to front page
Europe · General news · Daily Mirror

WhatsApp users warned of 'share screen' trick as man loses £27,000

Published by Daily Mirror · United Kingdom 1 h ago
This WhatsApp feature was used to help swipe thousands of pounds from one victim (stock)(Image: Getty)
This WhatsApp feature was used to help swipe thousands of pounds from one victim (stock)(Image: Getty) · Daily Mirror

Detailed summary

People should be aware of how to avoid this latest scheme

People who use WhatsApp are being warned about the latest way fraudsters are using the platform to drain bank accounts. Which? experts recently claimed that a "sinister" scheme cost one man more than £27,000 by exploiting one feature on his phone to give criminals access to everything they needed.

The experts claim that a user called 'William' was contacted by two men claiming to be inspectors from the Financial Conduct Authority. During the call, he was asked to share his screen after being told his device was "infected".

This was not true, but it exposed the entire device to scammers as if they had it in their hands. Which? added: "They kept him on the phone for 20 hours across three days, stealing more than £27,000."

To pass off the scheme, also known as screen-mirroring fraud, criminals attempt to "create a panic" about compromised devices or accounts. This leaves people feeling like they need to do whatever it takes to protect themselves - but at this point it could be too late.

Which? explains: "[They] move the conversation to WhatsApp and persuade you to share your screen. [They can then] access sensitive information that appears on your screen, potentially including one-time passwords sent by your bank.

"Once you share your screen, you could hand scammers the information they need to steal your money. If someone unexpectedly calls claiming to be your bank, police or any other trusted organisation, stop." In this situation, Which? says it is best to hang up and call your bank directly.

Ensure our latest headlines always appear at the top of your Google Search by making us a Preferred Source. Click here to activate or add us as a Preferred Source in your Google search settings

Which? claims people should never agree to share their screen or install software just because someone on the phone tells you to. This is a potential way for scammers to access your device without ever laying a finger on it.

If you have been scammed in the UK, report it immediately to your bank.

Opening of the article, excerpted from Daily Mirror. To read the rest, open the article on the publisher's site.

Read the full article on Daily Mirror Sign in to save

MarketNews shows the headline and summary published by the outlet. The full article is on the publisher's website. (www.mirror.co.uk)

Also worth reading